A Self-proclaimed leader

IBMC #08: The Nursery Rhyme Challenge

“You are going to enjoy this. You will pick a nursery rhyme and make a new interpretation of it. You are free to make edits to that rhyme and then give an interpretation. The only ultimate restriction is that there has to be rhyme and a new context to it. Let your imaginations flow.”

The nursery rhyme I’ve chosen for this challenge is, “A wise old owl.”

“A Wise Old Owl

A wise old owl lived in an oak.

The more he saw the less he spoke.

The less he spoke the more he heard.

Why can’t we all be like that wise old bird?”

Now my interpretation of the rhyme is not an extension or even on the same ideals. But it is what it is.

“A Self-proclaimed Leader

A self-proclaimed leader wearing different orange hues,

So much he spoke yet so little he knew.

So much we asked yet so little he heard,

Then why should I be like that old bird?

Shit, I guess I am a pessimist. I couldn’t even stop myself from making a nursery rhyme into something political.

8

**

On a side note, all these challenges that I’ve been taking since I started blogging have made me a very prolific writer. So let me extend my thanks to every single one of you. I know it took me a while to get to this eighth part of Incredible Blogger Marathon Challenge. But like the name says, it’s a marathon so just don’t count me out yet.

IBMC #08: The Nursery Rhyme Challenge

4 thoughts on “A Self-proclaimed leader

  1. Fantastic interpretation of the nursery rhyme – very clever. I also love the little rhyme about the owl, I’ve never heard it before. How true it is!

    I’m teaching my daughter about being a good listener at the moment. I always say to her that whenever she speaks she is only saying what she already knows, but when she listens she can learn something new! I will show her the rhyme!

    X

    Like

Leave a comment