A Love Story? – Chapter Thirteen

So, my dear friends, as many of you know, I generally end up writing too much on social stigmas. Now as this particular story is influenced, or more accurately designed, based on daily prompts, today’s daily prompt was interesting.
Spicy. Really interesting, you say. I thought so too. So I ended up writing comedy, to spice up our otherwise grim tale. Let’s see how well I did.

Read Previous Chapters Here

**

We all have this basal instinct to blame our shortcomings on something else. It happened because of him or her but not me. We all need a god and a devil to break our stones, to bear the burden of our blames. In reality, if we look real close for it, we’ll learn only one truth. There isn’t a god and there is definitely not a devil. In the end, all there is to it, is you and your choices. Choices.

We associate pain with memories, you had a little numb area in your forehead when your uncle died and now whenever you have that same pain you relive that moment all over again. I love rain. It is raining today too. The earthly faint smell of nature that overwhelms our senses after a little drizzle, that’s as close to nature we can come in cities these days. It was raining that day too and the day before the perfect storm. Gentle drizzle that settled the dust to the ground. The sky cloaked with off-white clouds. For the most part, it was just like another day.

Dalai Lama once said, sometimes not getting what you want can be a wonderful stroke of luck, but the truth is, that’s where we all struggle because if that is true, then why do we feel trapped in that particular memory forever. Struggling to release the chains that hold us to the ground. With great power comes great responsibility, our great power is our tenacity, our ability to rise against all odds, that’s why life throws a mountain of shit at us, so that we will rise to the occasion and take our responsibilities and be who we were meant to be. I so dearly wish that I could be a better friend but that’s one redemption which is never to be.

There are certain memories which are etched in our mind castle forever, we might forget what we did for our eighteenth birthday or what games we played on our first trip out of our hometown but certain memories they maintain their footprints for all eternity. My memory of the first time I talked to my wife is still fresh in my mind like it was yesterday.

“So why do you hate all of us so much?” Those were the first words she ever said to me, looking back in retrospection, it all seems so unbelievable, the kind of things we used to say and do as budding adults. Those were some strange years, my initiation into adulthood.

“Excuse me?” I said.

“You heard me, what’s your problem with all of us?” Radhika, oh, how confident her demeanour use to be. Still is.

“Nothing, don’t take it personally, I hate everyone, can’t help it.”

Simple answer to a simple question, but those few lines define my life in a nutshell. I keep a lot of shit to myself because in reality nobody gives a fuck. Does that makes me cynical? I guess so, but I tell myself one simple thing “Stars cannot shine without darkness.” We are product of our environment and nothing else. So many shits in my life that made me who I am. Product of my environment. Randomness doesn’t care for consensus. There was just so much I wanted to say and she was the first one to whom I wanted to. I had always chose my words carefully, pondering over them in my head and taking my time before saying only what was necessary. With her, I just rambled.

It was six twenty when I reached my home. I quietly opened the door and closed it behind me. I kicked off my shoes while i listened for my wife and hearing some noise from kitchen, walked towards it. Radhika was standing by the counter, her back to me. “Hey you,” I said, gently moving towards her. I gave her a little kiss on her cheek. She smiled but did not turn her head.

“You won’t believe the day I had today,” I said, after giving her a little kiss on her left cheek.

“You’re a journalist, aren’t all your days interesting?”

“Well,” she did have me there, didn’t she? I told you, one person with whom I always rambled, one person with whom I can be dumb, I can be silly and she’ll love me nonetheless.

“And if I’m not wrong you generally do not prefer to talk about then, right?”

“Well, that’s if it had something to do with my work, I had an interesting day outside the office. Believe me, you’ll laugh so hard, your stomach will hurt for days.” She ended up breaking into an uncontrolled laughter at that and I haven’t even started the story.

“Excuse me?” She said, with a reddened face, “You’re just too cute sometimes.”

“You know, I hate that word, right.”

“What, cute? I know, which is why I call you cute.” Radhika said, her face full of amusement at my dilemma.

“Uhh, fine. Let me just tell me my story,” I said, frustrated by her playful demeanour and started to tell my little tale.

“So you know how I always need a coffee before lunch, right?” I asked Radhika, to which she simply nodded her head.

“So today was a field day and I was in Greater Kailash around 12:30 and there was a café, um, a restaurant maybe, I didn’t really bothered to notice.” So far, Radhika was looking quite intently at my face.

“Now there was a girl, and she was wearing a Slipknot t-shirt, and I’m not kidding, it was strange, if not unbelievable, to see a girl, in India, wearing a slipknot t-shirt. You’ve listened to them once too, you know what I am talking about, right? I asked. Now a slow smile was creeping on her face, it was like she knew the predicament I had fallen into.

“So, I didn’t evened realized it but I somehow ended up staring at her t-shirt.” I was struggling to tell the next part of the story to her, not that she would’ve judged me, just because I do not end up doing stupid things.

“And you stared at her chest, didn’t you? Radhika said, hysterically laughing now. Oh, the joy her laughter brings me. Her smile, her little grunts, it’s like there was nothing else in that moment, even if she was laughing at my expense.

“Do not laugh, alright, it’s not funny.”

“It is, my love. It is unbelievably funny,” She spoke, in words orated with broken laughs, and continued, “And what happened next?”

“What next?” I said, actually screamed in frustration. Not your usual frustration, but the one that was coming at the cost of my stupidity. “Well, I ended up saying, interesting to which the girl ended up replying excuse me.” Through all of it, Radhika just couldn’t control her laughter.

“Sorry,” I asked.

“No, you said interesting while staring at me. So I’m wondering what’s so interesting about me or were you just staring at my chest,” the girl said, seeming completely offended by my remark.

“No, mam, I’m really sorry but I didn’t meant any disrespect towards you and I was surely not staring at you…you know…there,” I replied, a bit uncomfortable by then.

“Then, what was interesting?”

Honestly speaking I was surprised by the strong demeanour that this girl was showing, her words their sternness showing that she wouldn’t take any crap from anyone and was willing to challenge anyone who thought otherwise.

“I’m sorry mam, but I was just looking at the logo on your t-shirt, I didn’t mean anything else by that,” I said, a bit apologetic in my tone, how stupid of me to openly staring at a women’s chest even when intentions weren’t bad. Talk about getting caught with your hand in cookie jar…or in my case your eyes (no pun intended).

“Why, what is so interesting about it that you couldn’t keep your eyes off it,” she replied, a hint of anger still lingering in her voice.

“I knew that I had to soothe the situation a bit otherwise it would escalate into something big pretty soon,” I said, addressing Radhika, “You know.”

“No miss it’s just I have rarely seen a girl wearing a Slipknot t-shirt, that’s all there is to it, that’s what I thought was interesting,” I said with my head hanging a bit low by then. “You know, few boys have gotten up from their chair and were making their way towards the counter. It was all turning south very soon. You have to understand my dilemma. These days it’s very difficult to keep a heated debate under control without people jumping and putting their nose into it. They only get half information and assume the rest, assumptions which are based on where they live, and half knowledge is always dangerous.”

“Come on Priya, he said he is sorry and I believe what he is saying,” some other girl said, maybe the one behind her and there was something in her voice that made me lift my chin and look her in the eyes.

Thankfully she was able to calm her down and they left, well without their drinks of course, and she said something still walking, “So you’re a maggot?”

“What?” I replied a bit confused.

“You heard me maggot,” she replied, with a sneaky smile on her face.

“Interesting turn of events won’t you say so?” I asked Radhika, she was laughing with one of her hands on her stomach and other on the kitchen counter looking for support. A good memory on an otherwise terrible day. How badly I needed it.

**

Oh, my silliness.

via Daily Prompt: Spicy

13 Replies to “A Love Story? – Chapter Thirteen”

Leave a Reply

